BioIVT launches Scientific Advisory Board


BioIVT, provider of biospecimens and related services, announced the launch of its BioIVT Scientific Advisory Board (SAB).

BioIVT’s eminent and world-renowned SAB members will provide the company with scientific and business insights, helping it to identify future growth areas.

“During the past year, with our acquisition of Asterand Bioscience and Qualyst Transporter Solutions, BioIVT has evolved from a global biological products provider into a true drug discovery research partner.”

“We now offer a comprehensive range of cell processing, target and biomarker validation, ADME-toxicology, and phenotypic and clinical assay development services, in addition to producing control and disease-state matrices,” said Dr Chris Hansis, CSO at BioIVT.

“Furthermore, through our BioIVT SAB, we gain access to a group of world-class scientific advisors, who are willing to share their wisdom and further broaden and deepen our areas of drug research and development expertise.”

BioIVT’s SAB is chaired by Dr James Rothman, co-recipient of the 2013 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for his research into how molecular messages are transmitted by human cells.

Professor Rothman is the Sterling Professor of Cell Biology and Chair of the Department of Cell Biology, Yale School of Medicine.

His fellow SAB members include Professor Amin Rostami, PharmD, PhD, Senior VP of Research and Development and CSO at Certara. An expert in the use of modelling and simulation to facilitate drug development and enable precision drug dosing for individual patients, Professor Rostami is also Professor of Systems Pharmacology and Co-director of the Centre for Applied Pharmacokinetic Research at the University of Manchester, UK.

Professor Rostami has authored/co-authored more than 220 articles. In 2017, he was recognised by ISI as one of the world’s most highly-cited researchers in pharmacology and toxicology.

They are joined by Dr Binodh DeSilva, Head of Analytical and Bioanalytical Operations at Bristol-Myers Squibb. Dr DeSilva is well known for helping to set standards for ligand binding assays in the regulated environment.

She was President of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists and a member of the Steering Committee of the Global Bioanalytical Consortium representing North America.

Dr DeSilva is also Chair of the Biotech Special Interest Group of the International Pharmaceutical Federation and a BioAgilytix SAB member.

Providing clinical insights are Dr Johannes Zakrzewski, a paediatric oncologist at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center with expertise in cell therapy and bone marrow transplantation and Dr Martin Rosenberg, retired CSO, Senior VP and Corporate Director at Promega Corporation, and current Director of DNASTAR, Scarab Genomics, and the International Biomedical Research Alliance.

Dr Rosenberg also spent 20 years of his career as a Senior VP in Research and Development at GlaxoSmithKline.

Sign up for your free email newsletter